Vintage suits galore!

There’s one good thing about my family cleaning out our Camp…

I get to find new homes for {in other words; take home} some of the things deemed too obsolete. Of course, if I’d had my druthers, the whole place wouldn’t change a bit from the way my Grandparents intended it to be when they built it, but our family has grown remarkably since those days, and there’s concern that there isn’t enough space for everyone with all of the old artifacts in place. So, I give you, my family’s vintage bathing suit collection {part of it, anyway}:

I remember my Grandmother wearing the brown suit with the ric-rac well into the ’90s. But the one all the way to the right that I’ve been wearing occasionally {fits me like a glove!} was part of a matching set for her and my Grandfather much earlier than that.There was another that I loved so much. It was a high-waisted plaid bikini with big scalloped edges on the top and bottom, and heart appliques on the bum – so cute. A few summers ago for our lake’s 4th of July boat parade the theme was something like vintage-Americana, so my cousin Tracy wore that cute little two-piece, my sister wore the floral one, and I wore the suit on the right. My Mum said the bikini was too moth bitten and old from sitting in the closet all these years, so I’m pledging to take great care of these babies from here on out!

Happy early 4th of July!

xx.

P.s. I did a guest post for We Heart Vintage where I modeled two of these {and Ryan modeled one!}, take a peek!

10 thoughts on “Vintage suits galore!

  1. Natasha says:

    SO awesome! What a great collection 🙂 I love that striped one in the middle! Your family’s cabin is just to die for. What a special place!

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      I’m really lucky to have had all of the things I have had in my life. I can’t possibly keep them all to myself! ❤

      xx.

  2. Janey says:

    That is so wonderful that your family has kept these! The matching ones are especially cute and I really adore the blue diamond one! I wish I could see that exact suit remade today so I could have one of my own! I have two of my mother’s bikinis from when she was in high school and college.

    Thanks for sharing these with us!

    xoxox
    -Janey

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Ooh, I bet those bikinis are adorable! You should share them on your blog {if you haven’t already}!

      xx.

  3. Coco says:

    Julia, what are they made of? Polyester? Wool? Regular old cotton? How do they keep their fabulous shapes?! Also, as a side project, how about you work on making re-creations of these beauties (co-project?!).

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Courtney, what a brilliant idea! Why didn’t I think of that? I’ve never replicated a readymade piece of clothing before, so it would certainly be a challenge (but one I’d like to undertake)! I wish we lived closer – I could definitely use your expertise.

      None of the fabrics are labeled, but they all feel like cotton to me except for two which feel like polyester. They’ve all got several layers, strategically placed seam lines, and one even has very stiff cups. You’ll have to come up soon and check them out!

      xx.

Leave a Reply

