DIY How To | Make your own coasters

I’ve been meaning to try this out for awhile now!

Ryan and I love to collect vintage and antique furniture, but part of the problem with that is it needs to be carefully cared for, ie. get coasters. Rather than buying some I wasn’t really all that in love with, though, I thought I might as well just put some fabric scraps to use and make my own. I’m always getting pretty fabric from Goodwill to use in my Etsy shop, and I hate to throw out the tiny pieces that are left after I’m done, so this was the perfect solution. Here’s how I made my coasters…

For supplies you’ll need: Cork board, Mod Podge, a paintbrush, a pencil, scissors, something circular to trace like a cup, fabric scraps, and about fifteen minutes!

First step | Make sure that the cup you chose is wide enough so it will cover the entire bottom of the cups, mugs, or steins that you will be setting on them. I turned this teacup over and used the mouth of it to trace since that’s bigger. Trace as many circles as you want coasters onto your fabric scraps with your marking tool.Second step | Carefully cut out the circles of fabric that you just traced.Third step | Trace and cut the same number of circles into your cork board.Fourth step | One at a time, cover one side of the coaster with a generous amount of Mod Podge. You’ll want it to seep up through the fabric a little, so don’t be shy about your application! Diluted Elmer’s glue might do the trick, too!Fifth step | Place the fabric circles one at a time over the Mod Podge and press firmly so the glue comes through. Make sure you press over every part of the coaster, including the edges so they don’t come up after the rest of it has dried.For some fabrics this may be all the Mod Podge you need (my stripes were fine with just this amount!), but with others you may need to apply another layer of glue on top of the fabric after this first application has dried – such was the case with my floral fabric. So, wait for it to dry just from pressing and test the fabric to see how well it is stuck to the cork board before assessing whether you’ll need to add more.
Sixth step | Let dry! My striped coasters were dry after only a few hours, but the floral ones needed a little longer to dry. Every type of fabric will absorb the glue and dry differently, so just pay attention to yours to see what it needs.

Pretty easy, right? You may also need to trim up the edges of the fabric with scissors if it hangs over the edge a bit. Make sure you wait until it’s completely dry and all of your layers of glue have been added before you do this! Have fun with it!Thanks for stopping by! I hope your scrap pile got a little smaller and I would love to hear your small project ideas for fabric pieces. Even after making these coasters I still have two clementine boxes full of them just waiting to be given life. Think you’ll give this project a try? I’d love to see how yours turn out!

Oh, yes, and these would make great housewarming gifts!

xx.

5 thoughts on “DIY How To | Make your own coasters

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Excellent advice! I had no idea! People are so brilliant these days with the time-saving instruments they come up with. Thanks for letting me know 🙂

      xx.

Leave a Reply

