Photo Booth Friday – No. 51

our week in snapshots:

Well, that one flew by! Honestly, where did it even go? I was just writing my weekly summation for last week, wasn’t I? Honestly, I can hardly recall anything of note that happened this week besides that on Wednesday I was able to go thrifting with the other Julia and brainstormed with her some ideas for upcoming blog posts. It’s so nice to have people around me that are supportive and invested in my projects. Thanks to Julia and Ryan for being the best friends a girl could ask for. I’m so lucky to have you both.

Ryan discovered some secret paths in the woods just a short distance from our house that are amazing. Pine needles carpet the ground and the trees are so thick that it seems to be dusk when you’re beneath them although it could be noon without. My only dislike for this new area of exploration is that to get there, you must go directly through a neighbor’s driveway. Ryan asked permission of the person, and he said he didn’t mind, but still it’s a bit unnerving to feel like I’m trespassing in order to get to the woods. What would Thoreau say of that? Every day I wish more and more to have our own little piece of land to wander and roam and let grow as it will and just watch it change with the seasons as though I’m not even there.

By the way, if you ever think it’s a good idea to move into a basement apartment, think again. In our haste to get back to New Hampshire, we signed a lease here and I’m still having a really hard time with it. They say home is where the heart is and home is where you hang your hat, but for us, home is where the most random things {cowboy boots, laptop bags, pillows} start growing mold and we have to turn our guest bed mattress on its side once a week to let the damp floor beneath it dry. Lesson learned.

This is certainly not the venue to complain, but the truth is that it’s hard to live without sufficient sunlight and to feel like you’re entering a cave every time you step through your own front door. But in the toughest times, it’s important to remember that things will change for the better. I want to harness this energy that could be lost to listlessness, and use it to propel myself forward into our next stage of life. In May we’ll be able to move and we’re hoping to make it our last. By then, you may be seeing us purchase our first house {if everything goes as we hope}. As for now – the sun is shining outside, our weekend approaches, and fall comes soon enough. I hope you’re all doing quite well.

See you tomorrow!

xx.

P.s. I should add, to end this on a positive note, that I couldn’t be more thankful for the cricket songs that fill the air 24 hours a day in this location. I leave the windows open as much as possible so I can hear these little darlings. They have such a comforting sound and I am so happy they’re here.

6 thoughts on “Photo Booth Friday – No. 51

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      We called him and had him come over to look, but he barely peeked at it and focused on other issues (that don’t bother us at ALL) instead. We asked if we should consider getting a dehumidifier and he just brushed it off as though that wouldn’t help at all, and said there was no explanation for the dampness that he could think of, and left. It’s really frustrating…

      So, we’re working as hard as we can and throwing as much into savings as we can spare! There’s a light at the end of this 7 month tunnel!

      xx.

  1. Coco says:

    Oh, Julia and Ryan! Hang in there, friends. I’ve also been feeling a restlessness about having a space of my own (to paint! to decorate as I please! to explore!). It’s hard to balance living in the now and planning for tomorrow. I think you’re doing a great job.

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Thanks, Courtney. It’s so nice to hear that you think we’re doing things well. We try so hard and just get overwhelmed sometimes. Plus, seeing R+P get their house has definitely given us the itch! We see now that it’s possible for people in our situation, so we’re ready to make that happen for ourselves! Everyone’s gotta start somewhere, I guess.

      xx.

  2. jessa says:

    Hang in there, Julia + Ryan! I hope the next months go by before you know it so you can find a new place soon. But what a lovely backyard forest you have as a consolation! I hope you post photos of it! Pine needle carpets are one of my favorite things 🙂

    xo

    Jessa

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Aww, thank you, Jessa! I’ll definitely have to take some photos before the leaves turn and really start to fall! I’m sure it’s lovely up there in the fall, but it captured my heart in the summer so that’s how I really want to remember it 🙂

      xx.

Leave a Reply

