These last green days of summer…

Some days are exceptionally beautiful.

The weather is ideal. The sun shines, a breeze blows, and there’s not a cloud in the sky. The birds and the bees go about their business as if I’m not around, and I appreciate that. It’s nice to not be seen. To just wander amongst the trees and flowers and know that I’m anonymous. These little creatures have more to think about than what I’m doing here. I belong as much as they do – no more, no less.

Today is one of those remarkably beautiful days and I couldn’t be happier to spend my hours outside. The nights are freezing now, and some of the maples are starting to turn, so I’m soaking up the summer while it’s still around during the daylight hours. What more could a girl ask for than this?

The other day we made a pretty great harvest from our garden. These seeds were planted only a few months ago and we have nurtured them throughout the summer. Now they’re giving back to us and filling our bellies with every bit of nourishment they soaked up from the soil while they grew. These veggies grew from the same ground that I did and we’re thankful to have such quality food.

Enjoy your last few days of summer. Get outside and breathe the air. The fall will be here shortly, then the winter, and as we cuddle up in our wool by the wood stove we’ll be missing the warmth that summer affords.

Have a wonderful day,

xx.

2 thoughts on “These last green days of summer…

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Really? I can’t get enough of summer! Although, I suppose if I had had a few more days to enjoy it, I would be ready to say goodbye. I just get sad when I feel like I haven’t been outside enough, so I really needed this day!

      xx.

Leave a Reply

