Suzy Bishop – a costume from scratch.

I’ve never made a dress from scratch before.

I’ve done a lot of alterations, hemming, taking things in, changing necklines, straps, or sleeves, but this dress is the first one that I’ve ever made entirely myself. It was somewhat intimidating at first, but I managed it and I’m really excited.

The first second I set eyes upon Suzy Bishop’s darling dress, I knew I had to make it for myself. Knowing that I work best with deadlines, I decided to be Suzy for Halloween. I ordered the fabric, zipper, and a similar dress pattern a couple of weeks ago, and got to work on the dress this week. The pattern had to be altered a bit and added to, so, as is usual for me, I was right down to the wire. My Moonrise Kingdom costume was finished around noon on Saturday, right before I went in for work.

We had two parties last night to attend, and both were fantastic. The first was a big bonfire party hosted by Ryan’s and my boss. It was wonderful! Such a fun group of people with great costumes and fabulously fresh air. The second was our usual Halloween party  at Rob + Pam’s. We stayed for the night and today did a bevy of fun fall things like piling up leaves and burying ourselves. I love the smell of crisp and dying leaves.

Happy Sunday,

xx.

17 thoughts on “Suzy Bishop – a costume from scratch.

  1. Carl V. says:

    Happy Sunday to you! What a darling costume, you did a great job with the dress! We had our annual Halloween pumpkin carving event with a small group of friends and their children today. Pumpkin carving and cookie decorating and eating good food while football played in the background=a perfect day. Hope the rest of your Halloween week is wonderful!

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      That does sound like the perfect day! Ours was very similar! I’m really, really loving this time of the year.

      xx.

      • Carl V. says:

        I was telling Mary last night that I am not entirely sure why it is but this time of year, and particularly this weather (it was a gorgeous, non-windy 40 degrees yesterday) makes me happier than any time of year. I feel like I am in an almost constant state of bliss.

      • Jeeze, Julia! says:

        Enjoy it while it lasts! Soon enough (maybe Tuesday, here) we’ll be covered over with snow!

        xx.

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Yes, I’m so excited about wearing it again and reproducing it in other fabrics!

      DEFINITELY see the film. It is fantastic. My three favourite things – New England, the ’60s, and camps. So perfect.

      xx.

  2. Kitty says:

    Ah! I wanted that dress the second I saw it in the film! Gorgeous costume, so cute! I’m the same as you, deadline is essential to getting anything done 🙂
    x

    • Jeeze, Julia! says:

      Mine, too! I knew the moment I set eyes upon this dress during my first viewing of the film that I’d HAVE to be Suzy for Halloween so I had an excuse to make this dress!

      xx.

  3. katek1218 says:

    hi i really want to make this dress and i was wondering if you can tell me what fabric you used, the pattern, etc. because i looked everywhere and i couldnt find a pattern to make this dress. thanks!

Leave a Reply

